Each year Fine Music FM, screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-5-03-22-pmin collaboration with Willoughby Symphony Orchestra, offers young composers up to the age of 30 years the opportunity to enter an original composition set to a theme for the prospect of winning generous prizes, including $5,000 and a world premiere performance for the winning original entry. The winner for 2016 is Sydney Conservatorium of Music student Elizabeth Younan, for her new work in Clarinet concerto.

Elizabeth Younan is currently completing a Masters by Research degree in composition at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music under the tutelage of Carl Vine AO, with the assistance of the prestigious and highly competitive Australian Postgraduate Award.

As one of four participants of the Con’s inaugural National Women Composers’ Development Program, Elizabeth has had the opportunity to compose for renowned musicians Georg Pedersen, Claire Edwardes, the Goldner String Quartet, the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, and Sydney Philharmonia Choirs. Her first string quartet Interwoven was chosen by the Goldner String Quartet to be premiered at Musica Viva Australia’s Coffee Concert series in Sydney in 2017. Elizabeth’s woodwind quintet Shoreditch Grind received its international premiere at the inaugural BBC Proms Australia Chamber Music concert series by the Melbourne-based Arcadia Quintet, and will be featured in Musica Viva’s Melbourne Coffee Concert series and its Festival in 2017.

Elizabeth completed a Bachelor of Music Composition with First Class Honours at the Con in 2015, where she was awarded a scholarship with the Australian Research Council’s Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions for her thesis ‘Peri’s L’Euridice (16screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-5-03-09-pm00): An Analysis of the Compositional Techniques used to Express the Effect of Anguish.’ She received the 2014 Jean Bogan Youth Prize for Piano Composition by the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music for her set of Five Persian Preludes that were premiered by Australian pianist Michael Kieran Harvey. She is also the recipient of the Ignaz Friedman Memorial Prize for academic merit in composition from the Con in 2014.

This article appeared in the November edition of Fine Music Magazine – you can subscribe to our monthly magazine and have it posted to your home or business or click the link here to read online.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s